Introducing JackRabbot

The social navigation Robot


Stanford Vision and Learning Lab

About

Humans have the innate ability to "read" one another. When people walk in a crowed public space such as a sidewalk, an airport terminal, or a shopping mall, they obey a large number of (unwritten) common sense rules and comply with social conventions. For instance, as they consider where to move next, they respect personal space and yield right-of-way. The ability to model these “rules” and use them to understand and predict human motion in complex real world environments is extremely valuable for the next generation of social robots.

Our work at the CVGL is making practical a new generation of autonomous agents that can operate safely alongside humans in dynamic crowded environments such as terminals, malls, or campuses.  This enhanced level of proficiency opens up a broad new range of applications where robots can replace or augment human efforts. One class of tasks now susceptible to automation is the delivery of small items – such as purchased goods, mail, food, tools and documents – via spaces normally reserved for pedestrians.

In this project, we are exploring this opportunity by developing a demonstration platform to make deliveries locally within the Stanford campus.  The Stanford “Jackrabbot”, which takes it name from the nimble yet shy Jackrabbit, is a self-navigating automated electric delivery cart capable of carrying small payloads. In contrast to autonomous cars, which operate on streets and highways, the Jackrabbot is designed to operate in pedestrian spaces, at a maximum speed of five miles per hour.

NEWS & Press release

Team

Silvio Savarese

Assistant Professor
ssilvio@stanford.edu
Web

Roberto Martín-Martín

Postdoctoral Researcher
robertom@stanford.edu

Patrick Goebel

Research Scientist
pgoebel@stanford.edu
Web

Alan Federman

Systems Integration Engineer
alan.federman@gmail.com

Amir Sadeghian

PhD Candidate
amirabs@stanford.edu
Web

JunYoung Gwak

PhD Candidate
jgwak@stanford.edu

Kevin Chen

PhD candidate
kevin.chen@cs.stanford.edu

Pin Pin Tea-mangkornpan

PhD Candidate
pinnaree@stanford.edu

Xiaoxue Zang

Master's Student
xzang@stanford.edu

Richard Martinez

Master’s Student
rdm@stanford.edu

Ashwini Pokle

Master's Student
ashwinipokle@stanford.edu

Zhangyuan Wang

Master's Student
zywang17@stanford.edu

Max Chang

Undergraduate Student
mchang4@stanford.edu

Vineet Kosaraju

Undergraduate Student
vineetk@stanford.edu Web

Ella Hofmann-Coyle

Undergraduate Student
ellahofm@stanford.edu

Amy Chou

Undergraduate Student
amyachou@stanford.edu

Mihir Patel

Undergraduate Student
mihirp@stanford.edu

Michael Abbot

Visiting Scholar
Web

Noriaki Hirose

Visiting Scholar
Toyota Central R&D
hirose@stanford.edu

Seyed Hamid Rezatofighi

Endeavour Research Fellow
hamidrt@stanford.edu

Tin Tin Wisniewski

Faculty Administrator and Coordinator
tintinyw@stanford.edu


Alumni

Alexandre Alahi

Assistant Professor (EPFL)
alexandre.alahi@epfl.ch
Web

Marynel Vázquez

Assistant Professor (Yale University)
marynel.vazquez@yale.edu
Web

Vignesh Ramanthan

Research Scientist
Facebook
vigneshram.iitkgp@gmail.com

Lin Sun

Visiting Student
Stanford
PhD Candidate, HKUST
sunlin1@stanford.edu 

Alexander Robicquet

Master's Student
arobicqu@stanford.edu

Zhenkai Wang

Master's Student
zackwang@stanford.edu

Junwei Yang

Master's Student
junweiy@stanford.edu

Agrim Gupta

Master's Student
agrim@stanford.edu

Chris Cruise

Master's Student
ccruise@stanford.edu

Hans Magnus Espelund Ewald

Master's Student
hmewald@stanford.edu

Vincent Chow

Master's Student
chowv@stanford.edu

Isabella Phung

High School Student
isabellaphung@gmail.com

Neha Govil

High School Student
neha.j.govil@gmail.com

Publications

Datasets and Code

JR life


JR2 at Robobusiness 2018!


JRs with Sundar Pichai!


Welcome JR2!


JR at the dressing room!


JR ready for California winter!


JR suit up!


JR in red!

Related videos

JR2 at Samsung CEO Summit!


JR on Quartz!


JR on CBS!


JR's view!


JR on PBS!


JR on Financial Times!

JR on ABC!

JR on BBC News!

Acknowledgements

We acknowledge the support of ONR, MURI, Toyota and Panasonic.

Contact : amirabs@stanford.edu
Last update : 10/25/2018